How to kick someone off your Netflix account

TechZerg is reader supported. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission.

SHARE ON:

It’s easy to kick people off your Netflix account using two simple methods. The easiest way is to sign out all devices currently connected to your account, while the second method is to change your password. We break down each method so you can choose which one works best for you.


Netflix is famed for being easy to share with friends and family. However, you can only have up to five profiles on a single Netflix account. Kicking people out of your account becomes necessary once you maxed out the number of devices currently using your Netflix account.

There are many other valid reasons to kick someone off your Netflix account. Maybe your ex still has your password, and you want to revoke that access after a breakup, or perhaps you just upgraded your phone. Whatever the reason, if you’ve reached the sharing limit on your own Netflix subscription, it might be time to remove other users from your account.

Sign up to Amazon prime video for free – Watch thousands of movies & TV shows. Try Amazon prime video free for 30 days

Fortunately, Netflix makes it easy to prevent or kick off someone from further using your account. Here’s what to do:

Kick people off your Netflix account by signing out all devices

This method is the quickest way to kick off all the devices currently using your account, albeit with three drawbacks, but it’s definitely worth it if you want to stop people from using your Netflix account.

The first drawback is it may take up to eight hours for the device to logout — so if you want to watch Netflix right now, but all of your streaming slots are being used, you may have to ask one of the users to kindly stop watching, and log out of your account.

The second drawback is you can’t deactivate one device at a time — you’ll have to sign out all devices connected (to your Netflix account) at the same time.

The third drawback is that if someone has your password, they can still sign back in even after signing out their device from your account. The only way to fix this is to change your Netflix password.

To remove devices from your Netflix account:

  1. Log into your Netflix account.
  2. Hover over your profile icon at the top-right of the screen.
  3. Click Account from the dropdown menu.
  4. Click Sign Out of All Devices.
  5. You’ll be prompted to confirm your decision; click the blue Sign Out button. Netflix will automatically sign out all the devices currently signed into your Netflix account. You will have to sign back in again with your new password on any devices you wish to use.

A banner will appear letting you know you’ve signed out all devices that were previously connected to your Netflix account. You’ll need to be patient as this may take up to eight hours to take effect.

You may like:  Send text messages from a computer to a T-Mobile cell phone number

Kick people off your Netflix account by changing your password

Another option for protecting your Netflix account and preventing unwanted users from streaming a service you pay for is to change your password.

Take control of your data. Protect and safely manage all your passwords and personal info with Dashlane, the world’s most advanced password manager. Try Dashlane free for 30 days

This method is more effective because it ensures that no one can sign back into your Netflix account after kicking them out.

To change your Netflix password:

  1. Log into your Netflix account.
  2. On a web browser, select your profile icon in the upper-right of the screen. On a mobile phone or tablet device (Netflix app — Android, iOS), tap More — the three stacked lines in the lower-right corner of the screen.
  3. From the drop-down menu, select Account.
  4. Go to Membership & Billing and click Change password. On a mobile or tablet device (Netflix app), Tap Change password located at the top of your account page.
  5. Enter your current password and a new password twice.
  6. To finally boot all currently logged-in devices using your Netflix account, check Require all devices to sign in again with a new password.
  7. Click Save when you are done.

After you do the above steps, anyone trying to sign in again to your Netflix account won’t be able to do so unless you reveal your password to them.

Ultimately, the best way to kick someone off your Netflix account — If they know your password, is to change the password and shut them out.

Sign up to Amazon prime video for free – Watch thousands of movies & TV shows. Try Amazon prime video free for 30 days

Kick someone off Netflix FAQs

Answer to related questions people also ask:

How can I see what devices are using my Netflix?

To find devices using your Netflix: Sign in to your Netflix home page > click “Account” in the top-left > scroll down and click “Recent device streaming activity” > Next, click “See recent account access.”

Does Netflix tell you when someone is watching?

Unless all your stream is being used at once, there’s no way to know if someone else is watching with your account. Netflix has Basic ($8.99/month), Standard ($13.99/month), and Premium ($17.99/month) plans – you can stream up to four devices at a time depending on which of the plan you have.

Does changing your Netflix password log everyone out?

Changing your Netflix password will log out all devices currently logged in to your account. Any device trying to log back into your account will have to sign in with your new password.

How do I sign out of all devices on Netflix?

Log into your Netflix account > select “Account” in the dropdown menu on the far right side of the screen > Under “Settings,” click “Sign out of all devices.”

Can I log into someone else’s Netflix?

Yes, you can log into someone else’s Netflix if you have access to the password.

Can 2 people watch Netflix at the same time?

Netflix allows people to watch videos on multiple devices at a time, which is great for families that share a single Netflix account. Netflix has three plan that lets you stream up to four devices simultaneously.

What do you do when Netflix says too many devices?

When you get the error saying “Your Netflix account is in use on too many devices.” or “Too many people are using your account right now.” To continue streaming, you can either politely ask the other people to stop (for now) or wait till they are done streaming.

Leave a Comment